Andalusian Earth Siences Institute


The present IACT originated in the Stratigraphy Section of the Lucas Mallada Institute, which was created in July 1965 as a Centre associated with the Laboratory of Geology in the UGR. Its first director was Prof. José María Fontboté Mussolas.

When the National Institute of Geology of the CSIC was set up, the Granada Section became one of its departments, replacing the previous Section of the Lucas Mallada Institute.

The Department of Geological Research of Granada was a part of the Patronato Alfonso X el Sabio in the CSIC’s National Institute of Geology. This Department was associated with the Departments of Crystallography and Mineralogy, Stratigraphy, Geotectonics and Palaeontology in the Faculty of Sciences of the University of Granada. Its Director continued to be Prof. José María Fonboté until he transferred to the University of Barcelona. Prof. Juan Antonio Vera Torres was named Director on 10 January 1979, remaining so until his resignation in May 1983.

Dr. Angel Carlos López Garrido was named Director of the Department of Geological Research in Granada in May 1983, performing his duties until December 1985, when the Centre was reorganized.

Andalusian Institute of Mediterranean Geology

The joint center Andalusian Institute of Mediterranean Geology was founded in 1986 with the signing of an agreement between CSIC and UGR. Dr. Angel Carlos López Garrido was appointed as first director, and resigned in June 1993.
In June 1993, Dr. Mª Carmen Comas Minondo was named Acting Director with the purpose of reorganizing the Centre.

Andalusian Earth Science Institute

The Andalusian Earth Science Institute was set up in December 1994, being its Director Prof. Mª Carmen Comes Minondo, with the signing of a new agreement between the CSIC and the UGR. Prof. Mª Carmen Comas resigned in May 1995.

The research activities were developed in the Science Faculty of the University of Granada, in Fuentenueva Campus. This period was developed in close relationship with the departments of the Geology Section of the University of Granada.

At the end of the 2000s, the CSIC promoted the construction of a new building that will provide the IACT with modern laboratories and space for researchers, students and technical and administrative personnel. In January 2010 the personnel of the Department of Geochemistry Ambient from Estación Experimental del Zaidín (CSIC) was incorporated to IACT.

In June 2011 the Institute moved from the University of Granada to its new location at Avenida de las Palmeras, nº 4, de Armilla (Granada). The building has an area of 6.289 m2 with a construction cost of 11.452.000 €. The official inauguration of the building on 28 November 2011, was presided over by the CSIC President, Prof. Rafael Rodrigo Montero, and the Provost of the University of Granada, Prof. Francisco González Lodeiro.

The successive Directors of the present Institute have been as follows:

  • Dr. Carlos Sanz de Galdeano Equiza, elected Director in May 1995 and resigning in May 1997.
  • Prof. Juan Manuel García Ruiz, elected Director in May 1997 and resigning in November 1998.
  • Prof. Andrés Maldonado López, elected Director in November 1998 and resigning in March 2007.
  • Dr. Alberto López Galindo, elected Director in March 2007 and resigning in May 2015.
  • Dr. F. Javier Huertas Puerta, elected Director in May 2015 to the present.